Archive for the ‘Internet Tips’ Category

Tweet or Retweet — That is the question!

Any­one who uses Twit­ter fre­quently knows how hard it is to keep up with Tweets.  Not only that, if some­one has posted some­thing and you answer your answer will come as a tweet and not a retweet if you don’t do it right.

One of the best ways to ensure you are reply­ing to a tweet is “Tweet­deck”  http://www.tweetdeck.com/beta/Tweetdeck 

Tweet­deck is a very pop­u­lar appli­ca­tion for run­ning Twit­ter on your desk­top and phone. It has many fea­tures, but one of its best is its one-click retweet­ing fea­ture – hov­er­ing over a pro­file pic­ture pro­vides the easy option for retweet­ing anyone’s tweets – just click the bot­tom left icon.

Here’s is how it looks on my com­puter screen

retweet
 

Tweet­deck is free to down­load, installs quickly but how would any­one get any work done!

Teach or Learn — A Great Site For Both!

Just found One­MinueU thanks to a post from my Face­book friend Adam Urbanski.

At this site you can post a video or arti­cle, or watch a video / read an arti­cle. It is a net­work­ing ser­vice that allows users to cre­ate and post online edu­ca­tional “how-to” multi-media for enjoy­ment, knowl­edge and entertainment.

The Terms of Use is quite long but prob­a­bly worth reading.

Check it out!

http://www.oneminuteu.com/

Jan

Google Analytics — Set-up For Your Client — Blow Yours Off!

Ok so the title may sound a bit strange but let me tell you what happened.

First, any­one that works in my field no doubt has set-up Google Ana­lyt­ics for clients and put cod­ing on their pages. Usu­ally they sign-up and give you their account infor­ma­tion so you can enter the domains and inset the code — right. That’s nor­mally what hap­pens with me.

A cou­ple of weeks ago a client wanted me to set-up his ana­lyt­ics. He wanted me to do this through his Adwords account. In order for me to do this I had to get admin priv­i­leges. That was fine and I set up his sites and put the cod­ing in. No prob­lem, all worked fine. Except when I went to check my own Google Ana­lyt­ics for my sites. Guess what hap­pened — yep!

I went to sign into what I thought was my account and instead I was now signed into his. No sign of my sites. Nada.

Luck­ily my part­ner had orig­i­nally hooked up the account so I could get in and check to make sure every­thing was work­ing. It appears to be, though many of my pages now have no bar and even my over­all page rank has dropped. Does this ‘mix-up’ have any­thing to do with that, I don’t know, not yet.

I have signed up for a new Google account and have per­mis­sions on my own ana­lyt­ics now. I also have a sup­port ticket into Google.

The moral of the story — if you are going to set up Google Ana­lyt­ics for a client always use THEIR login and pass­word infor­ma­tion — not yours.

I’ll keep you posted on what Google says.

A bit wiser this Friday…

Jan

Did You Receive An Email That Sounds Too Good To Be True?

I did — and guess what — it is (sur­prise / surprise!!)

I received an email today from (XX com­pany — I will not name them because I don’t want to pro­mote them)

First, never click links in an email unless you know who is send­ing the email. Even if you know the per­son, if the link(s) does not look right DO NOT click on it. If you want to check it out copy it and paste it in the browser address line — best way is right back to them .com end­ing with­out the extension.

The email said:

(Quote)

We’ve seen your web­site at (XXXX) and we love it! We see that your traf­fic rank is XXXX and your link pop­u­lar­ity is XXX. Also, you have been online since XXX. With that kind of traf­fic, we will pay you up to $4,800/month to adver­tise our links on your web­site. If you’re inter­ested, read our terms from this page:

(end quote)

You bet I was excited to see “up to $4,800 a month” — me — who knows that when it comes to the inter­net that if some­thing sounds too good to be true it is

Any­ways, I decided to do some research and this is what I found:

This ‘per­son’, who cre­ated this, has actu­ally cre­ated a “tier affil­i­ate pro­gram” and they, or one of their affil­i­ates, has con­tacted you to recruit you into this ‘scam’ of an affil­i­ate pro­gram. Bot­tom line this is spam and they want you to join and be a spam­mer as well. Don’t fall for it. Just delete or report it.

Always remem­ber, IF some­thing sounds too good to be true, it prob­a­bly is.

Jan

Read more arti­cles like this here:http://www.jbcr-virtualsolutions.com/tips-and-articles.html