Saturday, October 10, 2009

Teach or Learn - A Great Site For Both!

Just found OneMinueU thanks to a post from my Facebook friend Adam Urbanski.

At this site you can post a video or article, or watch a video / read an article. It is a networking service that allows users to create and post online educational "how-to" multi-media for enjoyment, knowledge and entertainment.

The Terms of Use is quite long but probably worth reading.

Check it out!

http://www.oneminuteu.com/

Jan

Labels:

Friday, October 03, 2008

Google Analytics - Set-up For Your Client - Blow Yours Off!

Ok so the title may sound a bit strange but let me tell you what happened.

First, anyone that works in my field no doubt has set-up Google Analytics for clients and put coding on their pages. Usually they sign-up and give you their account information so you can enter the domains and inset the code - right. That's normally what happens with me.

A couple of weeks ago a client wanted me to set-up his analytics. He wanted me to do this through his Adwords account. In order for me to do this I had to get admin privileges. That was fine and I set up his sites and put the coding in. No problem, all worked fine. Except when I went to check my own Google Analytics for my sites. Guess what happened - yep!

I went to sign into what I thought was my account and instead I was now signed into his. No sign of my sites. Nada.

Luckily my partner had originally hooked up the account so I could get in and check to make sure everything was working. It appears to be, though many of my pages now have no bar and even my overall page rank has dropped. Does this 'mix-up' have anything to do with that, I don't know, not yet.

I have signed up for a new Google account and have permissions on my own analytics now. I also have a support ticket into Google.

The moral of the story - if you are going to set up Google Analytics for a client always use THEIR login and password information - not yours.

I'll keep you posted on what Google says.

A bit wiser this Friday...

Jan

Labels:

Thursday, February 21, 2008

Did You Receive An Email That Sounds Too Good To Be True?

I did - and guess what - it is (surprise / surprise!!)

I received an email today from (XX company - I will not name them because I don't want to promote them)

First, never click links in an email unless you know who is sending the email. Even if you know the person, if the link(s) does not look right DO NOT click on it. If you want to check it out copy it and paste it in the browser address line - best way is right back to them .com ending without the extension.

The email said:

(Quote)

We've seen your website at (XXXX) and we love it! We see that your traffic rank is XXXX and your link popularity is XXX. Also, you have been online since XXX. With that kind of traffic, we will pay you up to $4,800/month to advertise our links on your website. If you're interested, read our terms from this page:

(end quote)

You bet I was excited to see "up to $4,800 a month" - me - who knows that when it comes to the internet that if something sounds too good to be true it is

Anyways, I decided to do some research and this is what I found:

This 'person', who created this, has actually created a "tier affiliate program" and they, or one of their affiliates, has contacted you to recruit you into this 'scam' of an affiliate program. Bottom line this is spam and they want you to join and be a spammer as well. Don't fall for it. Just delete or report it.

Always remember, IF something sounds too good to be true, it probably is.

Jan

Read more articles like this here:http://www.jbcr-virtualsolutions.com/tips-and-articles.html

Labels: